#socialmedia

#socialmedia from ABOVE on Vimeo.

As irony, Above, the artist says, “it will be reblogged and seen on social media outlets the world over”. Like him (or her), I also think people look at me like I’m from another planet when I tell them I have left Facebook and Twitter. “How come?” they ask me, even if they didn’t notice I am no longer appearing in their timelines.

“In the eyes of social media I’m severely outdated, lost and not ‘connected’”, says Above. All I know is that I am much happier and much connected to myself this way.

By the way, the paintings in the video, made for GALORE festival in Copenhagen, Denmark earlier this month, is a time-lapse composed of over 9,000 photos and painted over a 5-day period. Try to honour it and watch the video without interrupting to send it to your networks – it only takes two minutes of paying attention to *one thing only*. You may then tweet.

Leave a Reply

